Free Legal Advice Philippines
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Free Legal Advice Philippines

Disclaimer: This web site is designed for general information only and does not create attorney-client relationship. Persons accessing this site are encouraged to seek independent counsel for legal advice regarding their individual legal issues.

I forgot my password

You are not connected. Please login or register

Per Diem for IT Onshore Assignment

2 posters

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1Per Diem for IT Onshore Assignment Empty Per Diem for IT Onshore Assignment Mon Sep 28, 2015 3:27 am

mezzo_piano

Arresto Menor

Hi Everyone,

I'm an IT Professional currently here in the States for an 18 month assignment. I am on a Per Diem Contract meaning I'm still getting my monthly salary in the Philippines and I'm just getting an allowance during my assignment here. Below is a part of the contract I signed before coming here. XX.XX is the amount we are receiving.

"You will receive a per diem allowance of USD XX.XX per day for meals, incidentals and commuting transportation for each day that you are residing in or traveling to or from the United States. The  per diem amount is subject to periodic review and my be increased or decreased by the Company in its sole discretion. Any such increases or decreases would be based on changes in costs intended to be covered by the per diem and to allow the Company to comply with U.S. tax regulations."

Few weeks ago, an argument arouse between me and the finance team. They are saying that if we will take a vacation leave, a week long vacation for example, and we are going to spend that vacation outside of the United States, we are not eligible to have the per diem. However, if we are just going to spend that vacation in other states, we are eligible.