Free Legal Advice Philippines
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Free Legal Advice Philippines

Disclaimer: This web site is designed for general information only and does not create attorney-client relationship. Persons accessing this site are encouraged to seek independent counsel for legal advice regarding their individual legal issues.

I forgot my password

You are not connected. Please login or register

Mandatory Retirement

2 posters

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1Mandatory Retirement Empty Mandatory Retirement Fri May 13, 2011 10:53 pm

phi13

Arresto Menor

I have been working with a private multinational company for 18 years already. We do not have a CBA or any contract that we signed. Originally, the company was owned by a Chinese family as an exclusive distributor of an international electronics brand. But around 1997, the Chinese owner sold all his shares to the Japanese principal.

One of the policies of the Japanese principals was a Mandatory Retirement policy for employees who have reached 50 years or have served 15 years whichever comes first. Is this policy legal considering we did not sign any contract agreeing to this and that, as far as I know by law the retirement age is 60?

This afternoon, I was informed that I am due for retirement and the company is offering 94% of my current salary per year of service. Considering I still have 4 little kids studying, I am not yet prepared to retire and I don't think the amount I will receive will last long. And also, since I am already 46 years old I will have difficulty finding a new job.

I did not sign yet their offer saying I will think about it first.

Your advise will be greatly appreciated.

2Mandatory Retirement Empty Re: Mandatory Retirement Sat May 14, 2011 11:02 am

attyLLL

ART. 287. Retirement. --