Free Legal Advice Philippines
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Free Legal Advice Philippines

Disclaimer: This web site is designed for general information only and does not create attorney-client relationship. Persons accessing this site are encouraged to seek independent counsel for legal advice regarding their individual legal issues.

I forgot my password

You are not connected. Please login or register

PART OF RES GESTAE

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1PART OF RES GESTAE Empty PART OF RES GESTAE Wed Feb 01, 2017 4:00 pm

sol_laurence

Arresto Menor

Good day!

I am a law student of one of the universities in Cebu. I am taking the subject Evidence this semester and we are now in the hearsay topic. I asked a question to my professor about hearsay vis-a-vis part of res gestae, which is one of the exceptions of the former, but I guess he was not able to understand my question or I was not able to formulate well my question. Anyway, I am really curious about this.

My question is about the exception in Sec. 42, Rule 130. The provision is as follows:

"Sec. 42 . Part of res gestae. — Statements made by a person while a starting occurrence is taking place or immediately prior or subsequent thereto with respect to the circumstances thereof, may be given in evidence as part of res gestae. So, also, statements accompanying an equivocal act material to the issue, and giving it a legal significance, may be received as part of the res gestae."

As far as I understand, there are two cases in Sec. 42, i.e., (1) spontaneous statements and (2) verbal acts. My concern is in the first case.

I will ask my question through an example:
A bank was robbed. X saw the robbery and ran while shouting "The bank has been robbed!". Y who was just walking nearby heard X. X can no longer be found. The robbers were placed on trial and Y was presented as witness and offered as evidence what he heard from X.