Free Legal Advice Philippines
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Free Legal Advice Philippines

Disclaimer: This web site is designed for general information only and does not create attorney-client relationship. Persons accessing this site are encouraged to seek independent counsel for legal advice regarding their individual legal issues.

I forgot my password

You are not connected. Please login or register

HIV Patient Post Employment Illegal Status Disclosure

2 posters

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

martinoki777

Arresto Menor

Greetings!

I've been working in the BPO industry for the past 10 years. Last 2010, I've been diagnosed to have contracted HIV. During that time, I wanted to resign from my current employment. I was discouraged by the management from resigning, hence, I stayed for another 3 years. Just recently, I have decided to resign due to personal reasons. Fortunately, a good employment opportunity opened up after being unemployed for 3 months and I went through the usual hiring process. As expected, I provided my prior company's HR personnel's contact information and the company number for background check. The following week from my initial interview with this new company, I was requested to undergo a standard medical exam, to which I agreed to. Afterwhich, I have received this email from the new company:

"Hi ****,

Generic, but pls note you can not hide info from us, should you have anything to tell us about your health ( for example but not limited to HIV) we want to know, this is not going to make or break our decision, but this will show us also your openness and direct approach, honesty level which is our priority in the company. We already employed before and now people from all walks of life, we are not discriminating due to religion , skin color or sexual behavior, we only evaluate the person for who he is and his performance.

Honesty first.!!!
Thank you"