Free Legal Advice Philippines
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Free Legal Advice Philippines

Disclaimer: This web site is designed for general information only and does not create attorney-client relationship. Persons accessing this site are encouraged to seek independent counsel for legal advice regarding their individual legal issues.

I forgot my password

You are not connected. Please login or register

Employment Dilemma

2 posters

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1Employment Dilemma Empty Employment Dilemma Wed Oct 06, 2010 2:33 pm

supernhes

Arresto Menor

Good day. I would need some advise regarding my situation. I am a private school teacher who is now considered a regular employee. I believe that service to my fellowmen should not just be confined in the four corners of the classroom. I have been an active member and officer in our subdivision and at the same time am also holding an important position in my current employment. Despite the demands both from work and my other social commitments, I have never neglected my duties as a teacher. Just recently after much contemplation, I have decided to run for local government position in our barangay as counselor (have not filed for candidacy yet). This has reached my Principal and have verbalized that I should choose between my work and my aim to run for public service. Can the school just terminate me for merely filing candidacy? Would running for public office be considered moon lighting? Thanks.

2Employment Dilemma Empty Re: Employment Dilemma Wed Oct 06, 2010 10:33 pm

attyLLL

are you a college or grade/high school teacher?

there is a Manual for Regulations for Private Schools which is issued by Dep Ed. Unfortunately, there is no online copy that I can find because it's as thick as a book. you should look it up and see what it says about moon lighting.

you should also look at your employment contract on what it says.