Free Legal Advice Philippines
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Free Legal Advice Philippines

Disclaimer: This web site is designed for general information only and does not create attorney-client relationship. Persons accessing this site are encouraged to seek independent counsel for legal advice regarding their individual legal issues.

I forgot my password

You are not connected. Please login or register

Separation Pay

2 posters

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1Separation Pay Empty Separation Pay Wed Dec 20, 2017 8:45 am

kemanisole

Arresto Menor

I had been working for 4+ years in a university. But then when K-12 was implemented those who have no masters degree were not allowed to teach in the college level. So last year August 2016 they did not give me any load/units to teach. I understood then that I was automatically terminated. I have no idea of the back pay and/or separation pay policies back then. I went on a vacation afterwards to rest and when I came back I looked for another job and went back to the university where I previously worked to get my COE and found out that I wasn't terminated. My status was ON LEAVE. I asked them whether I'll be receiving any back pay or separation pay but they told me I have to resign first.
If I will resign I will not receive any separation pay. But it wasn't my choice to leave the university they just didn't offer me anything afterwards. What should I do?

2Separation Pay Empty Re: Separation Pay Wed Dec 20, 2017 10:31 am

lukekyle

Reclusion Perpetua

write to them that you are now back and awaiting your assignment. They can only not put you on floating status without pay for 6 months, unfortunately since you went on vacation the 6 months will only start from now that you notified them.

You have 2 options:
1. Wait out the six months, after this they will be forced to either give you an assignment or give you separation pay.