Free Legal Advice Philippines
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Free Legal Advice Philippines

Disclaimer: This web site is designed for general information only and does not create attorney-client relationship. Persons accessing this site are encouraged to seek independent counsel for legal advice regarding their individual legal issues.

I forgot my password

You are not connected. Please login or register

Is NO WORK NO PAY policy legal?

3 posters

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1Is NO WORK NO PAY policy legal? Empty Is NO WORK NO PAY policy legal? Wed May 25, 2016 3:52 pm

indispensable

Arresto Menor

I am a IT consultant in a software company. As IT consultants we are deployed or assigned to various clients. In cases that our project ends, we are placed in bench to await our next project. I am a regular employee of the software company however due to the lack of projects I was informed that I will be placed on NO WORK NO PAY or temporary lay-off to alleviate further loss of the company. This will not to exceed 6 months and will be lifted when a project is available.

Is this legal? Thanks!

2Is NO WORK NO PAY policy legal? Empty Re: Is NO WORK NO PAY policy legal? Wed May 25, 2016 4:22 pm

lukekyle

Reclusion Perpetua

yes it is legal. After 6 months of no work you can file for constructive dismissal.

3Is NO WORK NO PAY policy legal? Empty Re: Is NO WORK NO PAY policy legal? Wed May 25, 2016 5:43 pm

council

council
Reclusion Perpetua

Yes, provided it is permitted under circumstances for a period of not more than six (6) months. Beyond this period, floating status becomes constructive dismissal which entitles the employee to separation pay (Phil. Industrial Security Agency Corp. vs. Virgilio Dapiton and NLRC, 320 SCRA 124)

http://www.councilviews.com

4Is NO WORK NO PAY policy legal? Empty Re: Is NO WORK NO PAY policy legal? Wed May 25, 2016 8:29 pm

indispensable

Arresto Menor

Thanks!