Free Legal Advice Philippines
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Free Legal Advice Philippines

Disclaimer: This web site is designed for general information only and does not create attorney-client relationship. Persons accessing this site are encouraged to seek independent counsel for legal advice regarding their individual legal issues.

I forgot my password

You are not connected. Please login or register

Security deposit

4 posters

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1Security deposit Empty Security deposit Sat Mar 28, 2015 7:20 pm

foreigner_tenant

Arresto Menor

Hi,

I have been renting a condo in Makati for 2 years without any problem of unpaid rent or bills.
I have now moved out and the 60 days delay for the lessor to return the security deposit (as stated in the notarized lease contract) have expired.
Since then I have been in contact many times with the agent who handled the contract in order to get my deposit back but it appears that the owner is making new excuses every week not to return it.
I am a foreigner and I have no knowledge of the Philippines justice system so my questions might look trivial.
From what I could find on this site it seems like I must send a letter of demand and file a complaint with the Makati barangay so that I can eventually sue. This is where I need some advice...
1. Should I address the letter of demand to the agent or to the owner who signed the contract, or both?
2. How should I send it? Should I ask for a special delivery service with proof of delivery?
3. Are there any specific legal mentions that should appear on the letter for it to be valid?
4. What would be the cost for filing the barangay complaint? And for a lawyer for the trial?
5. What are my chances to win the case?