Free Legal Advice Philippines
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Free Legal Advice Philippines

Disclaimer: This web site is designed for general information only and does not create attorney-client relationship. Persons accessing this site are encouraged to seek independent counsel for legal advice regarding their individual legal issues.

I forgot my password

You are not connected. Please login or register

Unused Leaves

2 posters

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1Unused Leaves Empty Unused Leaves Mon Jun 25, 2012 11:18 am

ssborja09

Arresto Menor

I am a full time instructor for 14 months or 3 consecutive semesters. After 2 semesters or my 1 school year, I was given with leaves. The Ongoing 2nd semester or my 4th semester, the school(branch) was closed and our students was transferred in its sister company. Among the faculties, only 2 was retained. I am one of those retained in that school but I am no longer full time. I work for a part time. Since I am a part time, I didnt able to use my leaves. After that semester, I filed a resignation though they wish me to continue. My question is: Is it possible that my unused leaves will be converted into cash?

Another is, do I have a backpay? How will I compute it? Thanks.

I highly appreciate for answers. Thanks.

2Unused Leaves Empty Re: Unused Leaves Mon Jun 25, 2012 7:18 pm

attyjoyce

Reclusion Perpetua

Hi ssborja,

Whether an employee will be compensated for unused sick leave and vacation leave will be determined by a company's policies and the employee's contract. By law, a company is not required to provide a person with financial compensation for either of these types of days when the person quits, although some companies make it a policy to do so.

An employee is entitled only to back pay if he is illegally dismissed from work.

http://www.domingo-law.com

3Unused Leaves Empty Re: Unused Leaves Tue Jun 26, 2012 8:01 am

ssborja09

Arresto Menor