Free Legal Advice Philippines
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Free Legal Advice Philippines

Disclaimer: This web site is designed for general information only and does not create attorney-client relationship. Persons accessing this site are encouraged to seek independent counsel for legal advice regarding their individual legal issues.

I forgot my password

You are not connected. Please login or register

Can I be accused of Qualified Theft by my boss who freely gave me something?

3 posters

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

vaworker

Arresto Menor

Good day,

I would like to seek your legal expertise based on the facts below.

1. I am an independent contractor who works in the Philippines yet had a client in the US.

2. We had no legal contract between the both of us. I tried to get him to make one so that everything will be legal, but he refused.

3. After a month of work, my boss decided to purchase a piece of equipment for me. It was an item that he thought I needed in order to work. I initially informed him to think twice about sending the money for said item because I was not comfortable handling that amount ($1000) but he insisted. I also told him proactively, prior to him sending the funds, that I was willing to make a payment plan for said item, but he refused several times. His words were "You do not owe me anything". I have our complete conversations recorded in chat transcripts and emails.

4. One day on my way to the province I informed boss that I would have limited access to work because I was travelling. I continued working through emails and chats, I was merely unable to take a phone call from him because it would require me to bring out my laptop in a public bus and I was not comfortable doing that.