Free Legal Advice Philippines
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Free Legal Advice Philippines

Disclaimer: This web site is designed for general information only and does not create attorney-client relationship. Persons accessing this site are encouraged to seek independent counsel for legal advice regarding their individual legal issues.

I forgot my password

You are not connected. Please login or register

DESPERATE DAUGHTER! HELP!!!Abandonment case filed by Philippine Embassy in Qatar against my OFW father?

3 posters

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

WednesdayU

Arresto Menor

Hello, it's my first time here. This might be long so I'd apologize in advance.

I would really appreciate your input Attorney and I definitely want to hear what people here has to say. I need a fast reply regarding this because my father is asking me to talk to him about this tomorrow and I really would love to know what it is he's truly facing. THANK YOU SO MUCH!

My questions are:

THIS ONE I NEED ANSWERED URGENTLY
1.Is it possible for the Philippine Embassy in Qatar to actually file a case of Abandonment against my father who is working there without a formal letter of complaint from me or any party stating our claim and affixing our signature?

2. Are emails considered as a formal complaint?

3.If indeed he received a letter from the Embassy in Qatar, what could it possibly contain? Would it be an actual letter informing him of a lawsuit or one just stating that he needs to pay child support or else he'd be sued for Abandonment?

4. Would he be going to jail for this if ever it was an actual case against him? From what I've read and heard, child support claims are only Civil Crimes which could be settled with an agreement between the parties involved. But by any chance, could the Qatar Embassy skip the part of settlement and treat it as a Criminal case of abandonment considering the 5 year duration without child support?