Free Legal Advice Philippines
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Free Legal Advice Philippines

Disclaimer: This web site is designed for general information only and does not create attorney-client relationship. Persons accessing this site are encouraged to seek independent counsel for legal advice regarding their individual legal issues.

I forgot my password

You are not connected. Please login or register

lack of company license and benefits

3 posters

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1lack of company license and benefits Empty lack of company license and benefits Mon Nov 22, 2010 5:46 pm

kwish_26

Arresto Menor

I've been working as an online tutor for almost 3 years. I don't have a contract since my agreement with my employer was verbal. After a year of working at the office, I and some others were convinced to work home-based due to the problem of overcrowding in our office. Then, after a long persuasion from my co-employees, my employer, who was a Korean national finally decided to secure a license for our growing school. It was my Filipino manager who filed for it. Those who were working at the office received benefits such as SSS and philhealth. Other benefits such as holiday pay, night shift differential, etc. weren't recognized. On the other hand, the only benefit I and the other home-based employees received was the 13th month pay.

But this year, I was informed that the company license was terminated. The BIR taxes weren't paid since our manager had been on an indefinite leave and cannot be contacted. My employer also refuses to give us our 13th month pay for the lack of license. She also mentioned that our employment status now is just part-time and she can fire us any time she pleases.

I feel violated. Please tell me if I have a right to feel so. Am I entitled to the benefits and 13th month pay? May habol po ba kmi if she fires us?