Free Legal Advice Philippines
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Free Legal Advice Philippines

Disclaimer: This web site is designed for general information only and does not create attorney-client relationship. Persons accessing this site are encouraged to seek independent counsel for legal advice regarding their individual legal issues.

I forgot my password

You are not connected. Please login or register

Separation pay (am I qualified)

4 posters

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1Separation pay (am I qualified) Empty Separation pay (am I qualified) Mon Nov 11, 2013 1:02 pm

denzcruz

Arresto Menor

Hi, I'm a call center agent and was diagnosed to be suffering from Cervical Spondylosis and it affects my arms and hands and cant type or work for more than an hour because the pain is progressive and feels like having electrical shocks in my hand, I was given a six months leave by my doctor she's been treating since last year but the treatment is not continous, our medical insurance can only cover 15 sessions of physical theraphy per year, the medicines are not covered and I do not have enough money to continue my medication. And then I found Art. 284, of the labor code and I want to know if I am covered of the disease that is indicated in the Article, our HR said that it is only applicable for Employees that have contagious diseases. Please advise, thanks in advance.

2Separation pay (am I qualified) Empty Re: Separation pay (am I qualified) Mon Nov 11, 2013 2:18 pm

HR Adviser

Reclusion Perpetua

If the company asks you to leave, you are entitled to a separation pay but if you opt to resign, it is up to the company whether they give you or not. Also, your disease can be treated within six months (you should have a regular treatment in order to get well) and not contagious.