Free Legal Advice Philippines
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Free Legal Advice Philippines

Disclaimer: This web site is designed for general information only and does not create attorney-client relationship. Persons accessing this site are encouraged to seek independent counsel for legal advice regarding their individual legal issues.

I forgot my password

You are not connected. Please login or register

Legal implications

2 posters

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1Legal implications Empty Legal implications Mon Jun 03, 2013 4:20 pm

ruth.collantes

Arresto Menor

I am an OD consultant for an NGO and have been asked advise on some HR matters. One such consult is about an employee the case of whom is the following.

This employee who has been 5 years in the company. On his second year he incurred an offence of neglecting to maintain a recording equipment to prepare for an occasion. This is a routine and is considered critical to the performance of the company.
2. 2011 July - AWOL (his reason was viral infection)
3. 2011 July - tardiness of more than 3 hours for 2 consecutive days
4. 2011 Insubordination and negligence
5. 2013 April - Negligence
6. 2013 May - Insubordination

Of all the cases above, the employee responded to the show cause memo only once (AWOL of July 2011)

I the overall, it could be assessed that he has behavioral problems that have not been immediately acted on by the proper authorities of the company. Of all employees, he is the only one who has this problem seemingly an outlier in terms of company culture. The company also does not have a detailed code of conduct and discipline to invoke except the general provisions of the Phil. Labor Law.

The occurrence of the offences were not frequent (as documented) thus cannot be considered habitual. It is observed that each time his attention is called and a show cause is issued, he "straightens out".

Questions: