Free Legal Advice Philippines
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Free Legal Advice Philippines

Disclaimer: This web site is designed for general information only and does not create attorney-client relationship. Persons accessing this site are encouraged to seek independent counsel for legal advice regarding their individual legal issues.

I forgot my password

You are not connected. Please login or register

Forced Labor

3 posters

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1Forced Labor Empty Forced Labor Mon Feb 25, 2013 7:25 am

BLADE1825

Arresto Menor

I have been working for a company in Libis Quezon City for 8 months now. We were forced to sign an attendance policy that stipulates that we are only allowed to have 1 day of absence per month regardless of the reason. This policy also implies that habitual absenteeism or being absent for 1 day on 3 consecutive months is also a terminable offense. I am weary now because I acquired CAP or Community Acquired Pneumonia, which I think I acquired while working. I have been absent now for 6 days going on an 8 day streak as per my doctor's advise. I feel as though I am being forced to render my service to this company even if this will be of great detriment to my health. To tell you the truth, this is not the first time that I was absent for more than 1 day with the same company. The first time I did this, we went into a company hearing which discussed the gravity of my offense. They decided to keep me because I am one of the best agents in the campaign, bragging aside. But I fear that this time my luck has run out. They might decide to terminate my contract. How can I prevent them from firing me?

Is there any ruling in the Labor Code or any ruling at all that might prevent this?

2Forced Labor Empty Re: Forced Labor Mon Feb 25, 2013 5:19 pm

Patok

Reclusion Perpetua