Free Legal Advice Philippines
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Free Legal Advice Philippines

Disclaimer: This web site is designed for general information only and does not create attorney-client relationship. Persons accessing this site are encouraged to seek independent counsel for legal advice regarding their individual legal issues.

I forgot my password

You are not connected. Please login or register

Holding Employee Partially Liable

2 posters

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1Holding Employee Partially Liable Empty Holding Employee Partially Liable Sat Aug 04, 2012 4:24 pm

penti01

Arresto Menor

Good day,

I'd like to start that I am by no means a lawyer, nor a law student, so I ask as a normal layperson with limited formal knowledge in Philippine Laws.

Under Art. 2180 of the Civil Code, employers may be held liable for negligence caused by its employees while performing his/her duties. However, are employers allowed by the law to hold its employees liable for any damanges they incur due to negligence?

Ie. If an employee (driver) accidentally hits a pedestrian, the employee pay for the hospital bills of the said victim. In turn, (a) does the employer have the right to make the employee pay for part / whole of the damages (to the employer)? Furthermore, with the appropriate agreements (included in the company's rules and policies / contract signing)(b) does the employer have the right to withhold salaries to pay off the bill (in an affordable scheme for the employee)? (c) Does the employer have the right to withhold the bill off of the person's separation pay (whether or not the act is / isn't a valid reason for termination without separation pay)?

2Holding Employee Partially Liable Empty Re: Holding Employee Partially Liable Sat Aug 04, 2012 5:01 pm

mel.key.16

Arresto Menor