Free Legal Advice Philippines
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Free Legal Advice Philippines

Disclaimer: This web site is designed for general information only and does not create attorney-client relationship. Persons accessing this site are encouraged to seek independent counsel for legal advice regarding their individual legal issues.

I forgot my password

You are not connected. Please login or register

Gross Negligence

2 posters

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1Gross Negligence Empty Gross Negligence Tue Sep 22, 2009 12:07 pm

alfred

Arresto Menor

Hi Guys,

This is my first post, though I am an old member of this forum. I am currently a Law student (first year pa lang po) and currently working as an Financial Analyst. My Boss asked me about the definition and criteria of gross negligence but I cannot find such in my law books. Can anybody help me finding the meaning and criteria of gross negligence and where I can I find it?

Thanks in advance,
/alfred

2Gross Negligence Empty Re: Gross Negligence Tue Sep 22, 2009 10:14 pm

sheriff

sheriff
Arresto Menor

Bro, gross Negligence has been defined in numerous jurisprudence in this wise:

Gross negligence is define to be the want of even slight care and diligence. (Mobile and M. R. Co. vs. Aschcraft [1872] 48 Ala., 15.)

By gross negligence is meant "such entire want of care as to raise a presumption that the person in fault is conscious of the probable consequences of carelessness, and is indifferent, or worse, to the danger of injury to person or property of others." ... The negligence must amount to a reckless disregard of the safety of person or property." (Wall vs. Cameron [1882] 6 Colo., 275; see, also, The Law Governing Labor Disputes in the Philippines by Francisco, 2nd ed., p. 877.)