Free Legal Advice Philippines
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Free Legal Advice Philippines

Disclaimer: This web site is designed for general information only and does not create attorney-client relationship. Persons accessing this site are encouraged to seek independent counsel for legal advice regarding their individual legal issues.

I forgot my password

You are not connected. Please login or register

I need someone to explain to me the "bouncing checks law"

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

SinfulRose

Arresto Menor

I am just a researcher that needs some light on the application of "Bouncing Checks Law" a.k.a. BP 22 on this kind of situation...

Diana, (a fictional character created by me), went to a bank to loan P 100,000. After completing the requirements, Diana had to create 12 post-dated checks as stated in the agreement between her and the bank. Diana's account has sufficient balance at the time to pay for the loaned amount.For four months the checks are good but the following checks bounced and she could not provide to cover the full amount stated in the checks as she is unemployed and had no source of income.

During those times that the check bounced, Diana experienced a series of calls and text messages and letters that ranges from reminding her to pay her debts to harassing even her family to the point of threatening to arrest them should they be found lying or something of the sort. Though Diana had planned to send the bank notice of her inability to pay and to ask them if they could stop the increase to her debts, she was not able to do so, and has completely forgotten about it, due to emotional instability brought by "bank-agents"' threats and later her physical health is affected and also due to over-work.