Free Legal Advice Philippines
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Free Legal Advice Philippines

Disclaimer: This web site is designed for general information only and does not create attorney-client relationship. Persons accessing this site are encouraged to seek independent counsel for legal advice regarding their individual legal issues.

I forgot my password

You are not connected. Please login or register

Pre-termination of Lease Contract

2 posters

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1Pre-termination of Lease Contract Empty Pre-termination of Lease Contract Tue Jan 08, 2013 9:21 pm

charevel

Arresto Menor

I have been leasing a residential condo unit for over five years now. It was originally covered by a one-year lease and thereafter was renewed/extended annually. The renewal/extension was documented through a letter. The letter specified the new validity period, rental amount among others.

The original lease (2007) specified a negative pre-termination and provided for penalty in such case the lease is pre-terminated.

In 2010 renewal/extension, upon my request, the pre-termination was allowed upon due notice of 60 days as I was anticipating the transfer to our own house.

However, there was a delay in the planned house acquisition that required me to renew/extend the lease contract anew.

My current lease expires July 2013. I wish to pre-terminate the lease as we acquired our own townhouse.

I already gave due notice to the lessor about the pre-termination. However, the lessor insists that I shall be penalized as the original lease contract does not allow pre-termination.

I insisted however that the pre-termination was allowed given a 60 day notice due to the amendment done in 2010.

My lessor insists that the positive pre-termination option granted in 2010 was specific to that period only. The amended option in 2010 did not specify that is was valid only for such year.