Free Legal Advice Philippines
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Free Legal Advice Philippines

Disclaimer: This web site is designed for general information only and does not create attorney-client relationship. Persons accessing this site are encouraged to seek independent counsel for legal advice regarding their individual legal issues.

I forgot my password

You are not connected. Please login or register

Art 100 elimination or diminution of benefits

2 posters

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

John E.

Arresto Menor

I’ve been working at home for almost 2 years now with approval from my US IT directors. We work at home because of the long working hours 60+ hours per week. All without additional expense from the company.

With the recent change in the IT structure, my new Director is asking me to report in Fort site. I live in San Jose Del Monte, Bulacan and because I’m too far from the site it would be financially and physically impossible for me to report there and I’m afraid I won’t be able to do my work properly if I’ll just be spending my time travelling from the Fort and back.

There’s a provision on the labor law that states “that an employee who enjoys a particular benefit or allowance for a long period cannot be denied such benefit”.

Elimination or diminution of certain benefits may result in the constructive dismissal of an employee. Constructive dismissal is an involuntary resignation resorted to when continued employment is rendered impossible, unreasonable or unlikely; when there is a demotion in rank and/or a diminution in pay; or when a clear discrimination, insensibility or disdain by an employer becomes unbearable to the employee that it could foreclose any choice by him except to forego his continued employment.

Can I claim Art 100 of the labor code since I'll be subjecting myself to unnecessary hardship by commuting 8 hours a day to work?