Free Legal Advice Philippines
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Free Legal Advice Philippines

Disclaimer: This web site is designed for general information only and does not create attorney-client relationship. Persons accessing this site are encouraged to seek independent counsel for legal advice regarding their individual legal issues.

I forgot my password

You are not connected. Please login or register

I want to apply to company that offers same software and services

2 posters

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

bunchukokoy

Arresto Menor

Hi Everyone,

I just need an advice regarding this. I want to apply to a new IT company that offers same software and IT services. I'm still employed on my first employer since I graduated 2009. But as I understand the Employment Agreement, it says that I'm not allowed to apply to another IT company that offers same software and IT services (Business Intelligence Consultancy to be specific). It says I have to wait for two years before I apply to such company. Does this agreement violate any labor code or a Philippine law? Is there a way I can apply to that new IT company?

Here are excerpts from the agreement.

"
EMPLOYEE agrees not to accept any employment from (a) any of the existing as well as future clients of the EMPLOYER, (b) competitors offering similar products/services as EMPLOYER, within two (2) years from the termination of this Employment Agreement without the prior written consent of the EMPLOYER. Should EMPLOYEE violate this provision, EMPLOYEE shall be liable to the EMPLOYER the amount equivalent to the total compensation that the EMPLOYEE would receive from such client/employer during the first year of employment as liquidated damages. This is without prejudice to other damages EMPLOYER may hold EMPLOYEE liable for violation of other provisions of this Employment Agreement.